Victory Fund Endorses 48 More LGBTQ Candidates; Historic Numbers for Odd-Numbered Election Year

Washington, DC – Today LGBTQ Victory Fund, the only national organization dedicated to electing LGBTQ leaders to public office, endorsed 48 new openly LGBTQ candidates in its last round of endorsements for the 2019 election cycle. The organization has endorsed 172 candidates for 2019 – the most candidates ever in an odd-numbered election year – and six candidates for 2020.

Eliz Markowitz is among today’s endorsees and received a Spotlight endorsement in her race for an open seat in the Texas state House. The race is receiving outsized attention because it is held by a retiring Republican and is key to Democratic efforts to take back the state House in 2020. U.S. Senator Ted Cruz won the district by just three points in 2018. Victory Fund also endorsed Shawn Terry in his 2020 race for the Texas state House, also considered critical to securing a Democratic majority. He is off to a strong start – raising more in contributions than any other 2020 Texas state legislative candidate in a red-leaning district that is shifting rapidly toward Democrats in recent elections.

While Victory Fund is non-partisan, the Republican-led Texas state legislature has introduced dozens of anti-LGBTQ bills in the past several years. A Democratic majority in the state House would almost certainly kill any anti-LGBTQ legislative efforts.

“The surge in qualified, viable LGBTQ candidates running for office is staggering, with more people running in 2019 than ever before in an odd-numbered election year,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund. “The floodgates were opened by the Rainbow Wave of 2018 and other historic victories over the last few years. Now, we know we can run and win anywhere, and more LGBTQ people are deciding elected office is the best vehicle to bring positive change for their communities.”

Mayor Parker also released a statement specific to the Texas endorsements.

The complete list of candidate endorsements announced today is below:

Spotlight Endorsement

Eliz Markowitz, Texas House of Repres­­­­­entatives, District 28

General Candidates:

Nelvin Adriatico, Houston City Council, District J

N.J. Akbar, Akron (OH) Public Schools Board of Education, At-Large

Chauntyll Allen, St. Paul (MN) Board of Education (ISD 624), At-Large

Sheena Barnes, Toledo (OH) Public Schools Board of Education, At-Large

Karen Bolton, Bremerton (WA) School District No. 100-C

Merisa Bowers, Gahanna City (OH) Council, At-Large

Robert Case, Framingham City (MI) Council District 5 ­­

Alison Coombs, Aurora City (CO) Council, Ward V

Benjamin Dickens, Roeland Park (KS) City Council, Ward 2

Philip Du, Dutchess County (NY) Legislature, District 15

Andrew Gilchrist, Perinton Town (NY) Supervisor

Joseph Geierman, Mayor of Doraville (GA)

Sophia Hawes-Tingey, Midvale City (UT) Council, District 2

Justin Gould, University Heights (OH) City Council, At-Large

Meredith Hegg, Upper Darby (PA) School Director, At-Large

Jason Hoskins, Southfield City (MI) Council, At-Large

Meghan Huryk, Neptune City (NJ) Borough Council

Amani Johnson, Southfield City (MI) Council, At-Large

Shelley Kennedy, Houston City Council, District C

Isabel Longoria, Houston City Council, District H

Mike McFall, Hazel Park City (MI) Council, At-Large

David Neill, Upper Darby (PA) School Director, At-Large

Zachary Niemiec, North Tonawanda (NY) Common Council, Ward 2

Corina Pfeil, Kenmore City (WA) Council, Position 7

Donna Price, Albemarle County (VA) Board of Supervisors, Scottsville District

Jerred Price, Memphis City (TN) Council, District 7

John Rach, University Heights (OH) City Council, At-Large

Air Rhodes, Beacon (NY) City Council, Ward 2

Holly Ryan, Newton City Council, Ward 8

Beth Salkind, Pennsylvania Magisterial District Judge, District 32-2-52

Greg Smith, City and Borough of Juneau (AK) Assembly, District 1

Gaitley Stevenson-Mathews, Glen Cove City (NY) Council, At-Large

Cesar Stewart-Morales, Framingham City (MI) Council, District 2

Shawn Terry, Texas House of Representatives, District 108

Lori Trent, Upper Arlington (OH) Board of Education, At-Large

Richard Trojanski, Maple Heights (OH) City Council, District 6

Damien Warsavage, Upper Darby (PA) School Director, At-Large

Andy Yeoman, Doraville (GA) City Council, District 1

Incumbent Candidates

P.J. Brennan, College Park (MD) City Council, District 2

Jane Campbell, Davidson Town (NC) Council, At-Large

Jane Cera, Clinton Township (OH) Trustee

James Demetriades, Cromwell (CT) Town Council, At-Large

Mitra Nelson, St. Paul (MN) City Council, Ward 4

Ryan O’Malley, Malden (MA) City Council, Ward 4

Henry Schwaller, Hays (KS) City Commission, At-Large

Jordan Sears, Gold Bar (WA) City Council, Position 5

Deb Steele, Clinton Township (OH) Fiscal Officer

This is Victory Fund’s tenth round of endorsements for the 2019 and 2020 election cycles. The organization has now endorsed 178 openly LGBTQ people across the country.

This post is republished here with permission from the author.


Have you read the original anthology that was the catalyst for The Good Men Project? Buy here: The Good Men Project: Real Stories from the Front Lines of Modern Manhood


If you believe in the work we are doing here at The Good Men Project and want to join our calls on a regular basis, please join us as a Premium Member, today.

All Premium Members get to view The Good Men Project with NO ADS.

Need more info? A complete list of benefits is here.

Photo credit:

Back to Top